Quinoa Week

IMG_6952I had not cooked with quinoa before this week, though I had heard of it’s great nutritional values from my daughter.  A quick online search assured me there would be plenty of interesting recipes.  Since I already have oatmeal several times a week,  I was particularly interested in the breakfast possibilities.

I found 3 recipes that appeared to require about 4 to 4 1/2 cups of cooked quinoa.  So, to prepare a bulk quantity of quinoa:

1 1/2 cups dry quinoa, rinsed well with water to remove the saponins, and drained

3 cups of water

Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, reduce heat and simmer, covered, for 15 minutes.  Remove from heat, allow to stand for 5 minutes, then fluff with a fork.

IMG_6951

This preparation in bulk is not something I normally do…to cook ahead and plan for several meals at once.  I feel I ended up with quite a bit more than 4 1/2 cups…maybe I boiled it too long?  The quinoa seemed rather sticky when I was “fluffing it with a fork”.  I moved most of the prepared quinoa to the refrigerator, but kept a small amount out to prepare my breakfast of

 

Cherry Almond Coconut Quinoa Porridge

http://www.savorysimple.net/cherry-almond-coconut-quinoa-porridge/

Author: Jennifer Farley      Serves: 1 serving

Ingredients

  • ¾ cup cooked quinoa
  • ½ cup almond milk  (I used Silk ® Original Almond Milk)
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil, melted
  • 3 tablespoons dried cherries
  • 1 tablespoon toasted slivered almonds
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened coconut
  • ½ tablespoon hemp hearts or roasted flax seeds
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon

Instructions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a saucepan.
  2. Heat on medium low, stirring, until the porridge is warm.

This recipe gave me an excuse to purchase coconut oil (unrefined), which I had been reading about as a “healthy fat”.  The smell and smooth texture were great!   I used ground flax seed that I had in the refrigerator, and reduced the amount of ground cinnamon for my personal preference.   The almond milk included cane sugar, and the dried cherries were also sweetened, so the recipe was sweet enough for me.

IMG_6953

The verdict:  Delicious!  Both my husband and I loved it!  We will prepare this again later this week.

*********************************************************

For a main dish using quinoa, I tried this meatless recipe:

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers 

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/220661/quinoa-black-bean-burgers/

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2017 Allrecipes.com Printed From Allrecipes.com 5/12/2017

Prep Cook Ready In 15m 20m 35m          Recipe By: DownHomeCitySisters.com

Ingredients 

1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained

1/4 cup quinoa
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup bread crumbs

1/4 cup minced yellow bell pepper

2 tablespoons minced onion

1 large clove garlic, minced
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon hot pepper sauce (such as Frank’s RedHot(R))
1 egg
3 tablespoons olive oil

 

IMG_6955Directions 

  •   Bring the quinoa and water to a boil in a saucepan. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender and the water has been absorbed, about 15 to 20 minutes.
  •   Roughly mash the black beans with a fork leaving some whole black beans in a paste-like mixture.
  •   Mix the quinoa, bread crumbs, bell pepper, onion, garlic, cumin, salt, hot pepper sauce, and egg into the
    black beans using your hands.
  •   Form the black bean mixture into 5 patties.
  •   Heat the olive oil in a large skillet.
  •   Cook the patties in the hot oil until heated through, 2 to 3 minutes per side.

IMG_6957

I used 3/4 cup of the prepared quinoa from the refrigerator.  Rather than using a fork, I used a pastry blender to more quickly  mash the black beans.  The mixture was rather sloppy; I probably should have drained the beans more thoroughly.  I made 4 patties and fried them, finding them very fragile and quick to crumble.  With the remaining mixture I added some brown rice flour to help hold it together.  Though the last patty was easier to fry and turn over, it was was dryer and not as good.

Another success!  The flavor was very good.  We had these patties on sandwich thins with a bit of mayo, lemon, spinach and tomato.   The crumbly partial patties also worked well on sliced baguette with a dab of siracha sauce!

 

********************************************

The third recipe using quinoa was a side dish:

Quinoa Fried Rice

http://www.cookingforkeeps.com/2013/03/27/quinoa-fried-rice/

Author: Nicole-Cooking for Keeps

Serves: 4 or 6-8 side portions

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup quinoa (or 2½ to 3 cups leftover cooked quinoa)
  • 1 ½ cups water or low-sodium chicken stock
  • ¼ small onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 3 scallions, chopped and divided
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • ½ teaspoon fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 eggs, lightly scrambled (still raw)
  • ½ cup frozen peas, thawed
  • Sauce:
  • 1 ½ tablespoons teriyaki sauce
  • 2 ½ tablespoons soy sauce
  • ¾ teaspoon sesame oil

IMG_6962

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Rinse quinoa a few times in cold water.
  2. Bring quinoa and water or chicken stock to a boil in a medium saucepan, and then reduce to a simmer. Season with salt.
  3. Simmer for 15-20 minutes until quinoa is fluffy and cooked through. Remove from heat and let set for five minutes or so. Fluff with a fork.
  4. Cool and store in the fridge, preferably overnight.
  5. Mix teriyaki, soy sauce, and sesame oil in a small bowl. Set aside.
  6. Heat ½ tablespoon olive oil in a large sauté pan over a high heat. Add onion and carrot, cook about two minutes. Add 2 scallions, garlic and ginger to the pan. Cook another two minutes. Add in the rest of the olive oil and the quinoa. Stir-fry about two minutes. Add sauce and stir-fry until incorporated, about two minutes. Make a well in the center of the quinoa pour eggs in, scramble. Throw in peas, then toss everything together until the peas are warmed through, add remaining scallion and serve.

(No chicken stock, since the quinoa had already been prepared with water.)  I used hoisin sauce (rather than teriyaki) since I already had that open in the refrigerator.

IMG_6963

IMG_6966

Paired with Mandarin Orange Chicken (Trader Ming’s)…another winner recipe!

******************************************

Theoretically I should have used up all my prepared quinoa by now (4 1/2 cups), but I still have some left.

IMG_6967

That’s OK, I’ve got another breakfast recipe I still want to try!               –Janet Anderson

May 16 breakfast:

http://ahouseinthehills.com/2013/10/18/superfood-quinoa-breakfast-bowl/

I made 1/2 the recipe, used almond milk instead of coconut milk, less cinnamon, and no cardamon or raisins.  Pretty good, but I liked the cherry almond better.

IMG_6968-2

 

Leave a Reply

