Homework #3 – Whole Grains

For my whole grain I chose Wheat Berries.  In the class cooking assignment, Bill mentioned that he many times boils water and then pours over the grain and lets soak for an hour or so; that way it doesn’t heat up the house.  Well I found a “recipe” to actually make your grains in a crock pot.  This was much better than having the house all steamed up which was very nice with as warm as this last weekend was.

IMG_2553.JPG

My first two recipes were breakfast items.  I made parfaits and a spinach soufflé/quiche.  Here are the ingredients for the souffle.

IMG_2562.JPG

I first started with buttering and then adding bread crumbs to a 9″ spring form pan.

IMG_2563.JPG

I sautéed the onions and garlic in some olive oil.

IMG_2564.JPG

You mixed all ingredients together and poured into the prepared pan and topped off with the shredded cheese.

IMG_2565.JPG

In the last few minutes of baking, I turned the oven to broil to get the top nice and brown.

IMG_2566.JPG

While the souffle was in the over baking, I made the parfaits.

IMG_2557.JPG

Mix wheat berries with greek yogurt, a small amount of honey and vanilla.  Put into a serving dish and top with graham cracker crumbs and fruit.

IMG_2560.JPG

This was a great meal with my family on Mothers Day morning!

IMG_2567.JPG

My final recipe was a veggie stew.  Ingredient list:

IMG_2582.JPG

Sauté the carrots and onion in the olive oil until softened.  Combine all ingredients into a large pot and simmer.

IMG_2583.JPG

This is a very easy thing to make ahead and pull out for a quick meal after work.

What a fun assignment!  Happy cooking!

Leslie

 

Leave a Reply

