A whole lotta quinoa

I chose quinoa for my whole grain this week and made it in three recipes. The first was a curried quinoa. This was a very simple dish with just a few ingredients. Unfortunately, the curry powder and the chili powder really overwhelmed the dish – definitely not one of my favorites.

For the second recipe, I tried to find a way to incorporate quinoa into breakfast. There are tons of tasty looking recipes out there, but I didn’t have most of the ingredients so I was more limited in what I could make. I found a quinoa-style oatmeal with maple syrup and cinnamon. It was pretty good and very quick since you just pop the quinoa in the microwave.

For my third recipe, I had tons of the leftover curry quinoa so I had to do something to salvage it. I added black beans, avocado, cilantro, and scallions to the dish and those additions really toned down the flavor. This one was a keeper!

IMG_5163This week, I definitely had more whole grains than I would normally have had and it made me think about how I could add more whole grains to my regular diet. I liked the breakfast option I made the most and would like to try that again with bananas and strawberries. Quinoa is very versatile, so there are quite a few dishes to try in the future.

One thought on “A whole lotta quinoa

  1. RobinS says:

    Congrats on trying three new recipes!
    You’re right about the versatility of quinoa – it can be added to pancake batter, mixed greens, soups, stews or stir-frys. I like to add it a breakfast bowl with eggs, spinach, and kimchi.
    I hope you enjoyed the class and that you continue to be inspired by what you learned in the class. Thanks for the post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

