Homework Assignment #2

I didn’t think I would like this assignment at first, but I really enjoyed it.  First to answer the couple of questions.  Yes – I have bought more fresh vegetables during these past few weeks than I normally do.  And most definitely there are drawbacks to buying fresh produce in bulk – unless you’re going to feed an entire extended family of 20 people.  The problem is that most things even though you have good intentions, spoil more quickly.

The two items that I purchased were spaghetti squash and parsnips.IMG_2534.JPG

The first thing I did was bake the squash.

IMG_2535.JPG

The first meal was a breakfast.  I made bacon and had spaghetti squash pancakes.  The pancakes were simply squash, eggs, flour and a little butter.  It actually tasted like a plain omelet – nothing inside.  Here is the final.

image1.JPG

Next I continued with the spaghetti Squash and made a Pesto Chicken Spaghetti Squash bake.  I started with homemade pesto using the recipe from week one.  Here are the rest of the ingredients.

image2-1.JPG

You started with the squash on the bottom of a pan.  I used a 9 x 13 pan but I think it would be better to use a 9 x 9 or a casserole dish to add height to it.  On top of the squash you put a layer of half of the pasta sauce and a layer of half the ricotta cheese and egg mixture.

image3.JPG

I browned the chicken first in a pan before adding to the pesto.

IMG_2544.JPG

Then put half as the next layer in the pan.

IMG_2545.JPG

The layers are then repeated and topped off with cheese.

IMG_2546.JPG

Bake for 40 minutes and here is the final product.

IMG_2549.JPG

But any good dinner needs a dessert so I made Spiced Parsnip muffins.

image2.JPG

Mix all ingredients in a pan and put into muffin pan.image1-1.JPG

While baking – mix up a simple cream cheese frosting.

IMG_2547.JPG

When muffins have cooled after baking – frost and serve.

IMG_2548.JPG

By far – this meal was a huge success! The casserole was very good (I was hoping it would have had more of the consistency of lasagna but it is little more sloppy) but still very flavorful.  And the muffins were a big hit in the neighborhood.  The entire neighborhood knows that I have “homework” and are always willing to be my samplers.

I wish tonight was anywhere near as successful. Lesson learned: DO NOT TRY TO WRITE  YOUR BLOG WHILE COOKING SOMETHING ON THE GRILL!

I was planning on having hamburgers along with Baked Parsnip Fries with Rosemary.

IMG_2550.JPG

Mix the sliced parsnips with a little olive oil and rosemary leaves.

IMG_2551.JPG

Bake and serve.  As I mentioned, I was hoping to have burgers and fries, instead I had a sandwich.  My husband was actually thrilled because he now opted for leftovers of the pesto chicken.

IMG_2552.JPG

These were better than I thought they would be but I prefer the regular version.

All in all – only one meal failure but not in any of the recipes I made.  Looking forward to next weeks assignment.

 

2 thoughts on “Homework Assignment #2

  1. RobinS says:

    I’m happy to hear that you ended up enjoying this assignment – it’s a challenge, but worth it to see if you can weave more and different produce into meals. I think I need to more clearly define what “bulk” means in this assignment – buying in bulk for one person is very different than buying in bulk for a family of five. It’s relative. You chose items that store very well for long periods (3-6 weeks).
    The squash & chicken lasagna sounds good, as do the parsnip muffins (please share the recipe for the muffins, if you remember.)
    Too bad about the burned meal – I really like roasted parsnip, although it is difficult to bake them evenly (some burned, some underdone).
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. lkabong says:

    We actually ate the parsnip fries – they weren’t bad. It was the burgers that looked more like charcoal briquets 😦
    Here is the recipe for the muffins:
    1 c flour
    1 tsp cardamom
    1 1/2 tsp baking powder
    1/4 tsp salt
    3/4 c light brown sugar
    2 eggs
    2/3 c vegetable oil
    1 T vanilla (divided)
    2 c grated parsnip

    Preheat over to 350 degrees. In a large bowl mix brown sugar, eggs, oil, 2 tsp vanilla and parsnips. Stir in flour, cardamom, baking powder and salt.
    Line 12 standard muffin cups with liners. Divide batter among cups. Bake 18-20 minutes.

    Cream Cheese frosting:
    8 oz cream cheese
    1/2 stick butter
    1/2 powdered sugar
    Combine and spread on muffins

    Like

Leave a Reply

