Home Assignment #2

I was excited about this assignment because I’d been wanting to make yucca fries for a while and this was the perfect push!  I chose 3 different produce items for the 3 recipes: yucca, artichoke and eggplant.  Yucca is the only one I had a recipe in mind for, but I always loved when my mom cooked artichoke as a kid and figured I should learn how to cook it and I’ve had eggplant in curry before and really liked the texture so I thought I should try that out too.   It was difficult, however, to get all 3 recipes done in the week as we don’t generally go grocery shopping until Friday/Saturday.  I did it though and here is what I made:

Recipe 1: Yucca Fries

  1.  Peel the yucca (it was very thick and waxy and gave me a good workout).
  2. Cut yucca into fries.  I didn’t realize until I was about to cut it that there was a fibrous core to the yucca that you were supposed to avoid.  Everything was the same color so it felt impossible to tell where the core started, but I figured the part that was hard to cut into was the core and I avoided that.  Because I had to cut around that, my fries weren’t in the prettiest of shapes, but it worked.
  3. Boil until tender (about 10 minutes).
  4. Drain and pat dry, then toss with 2 tbsp. coconut oil, 1/4 tsp salt and some black pepper.
  5. Lay yucca on a baking sheet and bake at 425 for 15 minutes.
  6. Flip fries, then bake for another 15 minutes.

These were delicious and were a huge hit with my boyfriend.  I would highly recommend this recipe!  We will be cooking this again soon, but trying them as chips instead of fries next time.

Recipe 2: Lemon Artichoke

  1. Wash artichoke
  2. Cut off stem and tops (we cut off almost down to the heart, probably could have cut less).
  3. Cut slices of lemon
  4. Fill pot with water, lemon slices and artichoke.  Artichoke should be upside down in pot.  We figured this was the best way so the water could get into the artichoke.
  5. Bring to boil, then turn heat down to simmer.
  6. Simmer for 1 hour.
  7. Serve with lemon juice.

I was very happy with this recipe because it was easy and it was much more healthy than how my mom used to serve it (dipping it in mayonnaise).  Also, my boyfriend who doesn’t like many vegetables liked this which is a miracle in and of itself!  Will definitely make again.

Recipe 3: Baked Eggplant

  1. Beat 1 egg in bowl.
  2. Mix 1/2 cup parmesan (or mexican cheddar since we didn’t have parmesan) and 1/2 cup italian breadcrumbs.  Add a little salt/pepper.
  3. Cut eggplant into thick slices.
  4. Dip eggplant in egg, then roll in cheese/breadcrumb mixture.
  5. Place on greased baking sheet.
  6. Bake on 375 for 20 minutes (until bottom is golden brown).
  7. Flip eggplant and bake for another 10 minutes.
  8. Serve with marinara (or spicy red pepper pasta sauce if you’re me).

I cooked this recipe late at night so I only tasted it, then saved it for lunch today.  I liked it with the red sauce, but it might be too bland by itself.  This would be good on pasta or as a side to another meal.  I’m happy to have another side option because I never know what to make aside from broccoli, cauliflower, or something like that.  Stamp of approval from boyfriend on this one too.  Overall, a very successful cooking week!

One thought on “Home Assignment #2

  1. RobinS says:

    Congratulations on the success of your ambitious week of cooking!
    The photo of the artichokes in the cooking water is really pretty.
    I like artichokes and melted lemon butter – so delicious.
    I believe that people would eat more vegetables if they would take the time to find a preparation that is pleasing to the palate (steam, boil, roast, sauté, braise, add butter, sauces, etc.) I’ve turned many avowed asparagus-haters into lovers after trying roasted asparagus (same with Brussels sprouts). So, keep sharing your enthusiasm with your boyfriend, and he’ll develop a liking for a whole lot of veggies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

