Assignment 2: Vegetating

Recipe #1: Scandinavian Potato Salad

OK – so this isn’t really something new or different aside from the fact that I’ve never made them myself… The recipe is from The Silver Palate Cookbook by Julee Rosso and Sheila Lukins, 1982.

A simple recipe that consists of boiled new potatoes, black pepper, purple onions (sub yellow onions), fresh dill, and sour cream (not in my version!!!). Chopped up potatoes were boiled until tender, then combined with onions and dill with a few shakes of black pepper. Delicious.

 

Recipe #2: Asparagus Pesto (link)

Asparagus Pesto

Recipe from the New York Times, by Mark Bittman.

I chose this recipe because – what the heck? Pesto made with Asparagus? That’s Crazy!!!

After all the existential dread about pesto made with asparagus wore off, I made this and it was really tasty! Highly recommended that you make this… I’ll keep this in my Good Food recipe book. The recipe contains asparagus, garlic, pine nuts (sub walnuts), olive oil, Parmesan cheese, black pepper, and lemon juice.

 

Recipe #3: Eggplant and Roasted Red Pepper Dip

Eggplant and Roasted Red Pepper Dip

Recipe from The Instant Pot Electric Pressure Cooker Cookbook by Laurel Randolph

Vegetarian, gluten free, and paleo friendly! (FWIW)

Oh holy buckets, I forgot to photograph the process… So the only photo is of the dregs of the dip in the pot that I finished off with some pita chips that I had in my pantry. The rest went into containers and into the freezer. And it was reasonably tasty. BUT – I won’t try this again because it’s too much work for a dip that is just OK. Refer back to the Asparagus Pesto – YES, I’ll do the Asparagus Pesto again.

So the recipe consists of 2 pounds of eggplant, 1/2 peeled but with some skin and cut into 1″ cubes, 4 garlic cloves, 3/4 cup roasted red pepper, freshly squeezed lemon juice and bits of tahini, cumin, black pepper, kosher salt, olive oil, and water. And this was the FIRST time I have ever used my immersion blender! So despite the fact that I won’t make this again, I finally got to use that blender!

 

Recipe #4: Curried Butternut Squash Soup

Recipe from the Silver Palate Cookbook by Julee Rosso & Sheila Lukins.

Ran out of time… Spent the majority of my weekend installing a new water heater, so not enough time for 4 recipes… Must do this one later this week…

This one really looks good. Butternut squash, onion, butter, curry powder, apples peeled and cored (honeycrisp!), chicken stock and apple juice… Salt & pepper to taste, and with a shredded Granny Smith apple for garnish. Yeah, this will get done on Wednesday night…

 

Homework Questions:

Fresh vegetables consumed this week compared to others weeks? Definitely increased, and tasty. I have enough cookbooks that I’ve barely cracked open to find lots of recipes to try. I’ve always had the idea of “more fruits and vegetables” on my mind, but this exercise has raised my awareness in a very tasty way…

Buying in bulk? This is a tough one. I’m cooking just for me right now, so bulk is out of the question. But fresh vs. frozen or canned? I can definitely see the advantages of fresh. I’ll still keep frozen vegetables, and some frozen fruits, in my freezer. But the fresh stuff, especially the herbs, are fantastic.

One thought on “Assignment 2: Vegetating

  1. RobinS says:

    These are all wonderful, and I’m happy to hear that you’ve increased your vegetable consumption! There are so many wonderfully delicious ways to add the to one’s diet.
    New potatoes prepared in with simple ingredients are the best – I think that a little sour cream would have been nice with them, too.
    I’ve made asparagus pesto before and it IS delicious. If you’ve not tried it, pesto can be made with broccoli is also good.
    Btw, you don’t need to make more that three recipes for this assignment (two different produce items and three recipes), so please don’t fret over a fourth.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

