Unfamiliar Produce Adventures

When I gazed around the produce section of my local Cub Foods, I spied two beautiful items that I had never worked with before: Asian pear and fennel. Once those two items were in my cart, I then proceeded to buy all the gluten and dairy free condiments and spices I could think of to possibly use with them.

IMG_0952

I finally decided on 5 recipes:

Fruit Salad with Asian pear and coconut yogurt dressing

IMG_1347

Asian pear and banana bread

0503172253-00

Chutney with Asian pear and fennel

IMG_0957

Red potato and fennel gratin with plain coconut yogurt

IMG_0962

Mixed greens salad with fennel, shaved celery and dried cranberries

IMG_0960

It was really exciting for me to create dishes using “exotic” ingredients. I was particularly pleased with myself when I could kill two birds with one stone by using fennel and Asian pear in one of the recipes!

Leave a Reply

