Home Assignment 1

My husband and one of my daughters love to cook so I  really don’t do much cooking. However, my daughter is leaving home in the fall so I think it might be a good idea to learn to cook a few healthy meals.

Our pantry is well stocked so I could probably make pretty much anything but I decided to start with something easy. My daughter loves Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything so I decided to make pancakes from a recipe in that book.

I started by doing what Bill told us to do in class the first week. I gathered all the ingredient and put them in small bowls in the order that they were needed in the recipe. IMG_1389

This worked well except I did have a lot of dishes to wash when I was done. I was doing pretty good until I read “separate the eggs”.  IMG_1390

This was kind of difficult but I’m sure I will get better at this with practice! I did a pretty good job beating the egg whites with an electric hand mixer!IMG_1392

My daughter loves to go to local farms and pick strawberries, blueberries, raspberries apples do I added some of her frozen blueberries to the batter.  IMG_1393The pancakes actually turned out pretty good. I might like cooking! I look forward to week two’s assignment.IMG_1397

Leave a Reply

