Home Assignment #1

Hi there!  I always find breakfast to be an easy meal to whip up without having to buy extra ingredients since we always have eggs.

Ingredients (change quantities to suit your needs)

  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic
  • Red/orange sweet peppers
  • Onion

Step 1: We haven’t used our eggs in a while so I had to make sure they were still good.  I heard that if your eggs don’t float in a bowl of water, they’re still good.  I tested them out and they didn’t float!  Everyone is still in good health several days later so I’d agree with the results of the test.

Step 2: Put eggs in bowl with salt, pepper and a splash of milk and whisk away.  I used 6 eggs, but you could easily change the quantities to whatever suits your fancy.

Step 3: Cut garlic, sweet peppers and onion into small pieces that won’t since to the bottom of your egg mixture.

IMG_20170429_105223

Step 4: Mix vegetables in with egg mixture.

Step 5: Grease muffin tin and put egg mixture in muffin tin.  I only filled them about 3/4 full so it wouldn’t overflow when cooked.

IMG_20170429_110717

Step 6: Bake in oven on 350 for 20 minutes.

Step 7: Take your egg bake out of the muffin tins.  I put seaweed around a couple of the egg bakes, but they just got soggy from the moisture in the eggs so I wouldn’t recommend it.

Step 8: Make a fun design with what you have!

IMG_20170429_113251

4 thoughts on “Home Assignment #1

  1. RobinS says:

    Gotta love eggs – the perfect food! They pair well with so many vegetables, and the combination of onions, mushrooms, pepper, and garlic is particularly tasty.
    I’m wondering if you had a chance to reflect on the other part of the assignment – meal planning and the status of your pantry…
    What was your second recipe?
    Thanks for the post!

    Like

    • shelbylaf says:

      Meal planning for us is usually pretty spontaneous which often times leads to eating out or making a pizza. When grocery shopping, we often buy staples of a main meal (ground beef, chicken, pork loin, etc.), but don’t have a lot of options for sides.

      This week, we had the right foods to prepare what I wanted, but we usually don’t have as much produce since we don’t cook a lot. I think going forward, we’re going to have more produce since it was actually pretty easy to whip a meal together when we had it.

      Going forward, I would like to learn more about healthy sides I could make.

      Like

    • shelbylaf says:

      Not always, but we almost always have it. I usually use it to make spam musubi which is basically a giant sushi roll with spam instead of fish. My family is Hawaiian and my grandma taught me how to make it when I was little.

      I would be curious to know what else I could use the seaweed for though. We have plenty of it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

