Reflections on cooking at home

Okay, here’s another post for week #1 to answer the questions posed for this week.

How does meal planning generally work for you? Do you have a routine or strategy, or is it spontaneous? Without judgment, talk about what works, and what doesn’t work about it.

Meal planning vacillates from highly organized and creative to where can I stop on my way home from the U to get dinner! Our kids are long gone, so it’s become more spontaneous now. My hubby is retired so sometimes he chooses to be in charge. Meal planning is much more fun for me when it’s for a special occasion like when I’m planning a dinner party. That’s when I’m in my element. I can spend days exploring the recipes I have and looking for new ones. My husband says I enjoy it because I make it an academic exploration of techniques, ingredients and artistic expression. Yes, I know he is probably correct. I love the planning more than the actual execution frankly. After the big event, I’m spent. Most days I’m just trying to quickly get dinner on the table so I can get back to the computer. I’ve started doing grocery delivery and I’m considering a service like Blue Apron.

How does your pantry inventory look? Do you think you have what you need to prepare food the way you
want? What do you still need? What do you have that isn’t necessary?

At home I’m certain I have more in the pantry than 2 people really need. It’s part of an old habit. I’ve always cooked for crowds. We have 6 kids and when they were teens, we would often also have their friends around for dinner or after school snacks. So, I was certainly in the habit of buying bulk then. Unfortunately, that is still part of my repretoire. I have always had a freezer and even though I love it, I just cannot keep track of what’s there and end up tossing things out later. So, how to maintain the minimum of what I will need but minimize my trips to the market. That’s my current thinking and I think getting more planful about meals will help me with that. Wish me luck.

One thought on “Reflections on cooking at home

  1. RobinS says:

    I can’t imagine cooking for such a large group for so many years! You must have some amazing meal planning skills in your tool box.
    Are you sort of tired of cooking or are you looking for inspiration? Tell me a little about why you’re considering Blue Apron?
    What are you hoping to learn from your participation in this class?
    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

