Oats- Assignment 3

This past week I decided on Oats for the whole grain assignment. I always have ‘quick oats’ in my pantry and never really explored all the recipes out there. Typically, I will just make quick oatmeal and call it a day. I wanted to use some recipes in my cook books but noticed majority of the equipment needed I do not have (made me realize I need more kitchen gadgets!) I found one recipe that is specifically a “honey” cookbook. It’s about 30 pages published by the MN Honey producers Assoc. and MN Dept of Agriculture (seems very old and dated). The flavors were sweet and salty from the butterscotch ships and sunflower seeds which related to Chef Bill’s talk on measurements/proportions of salt. Below is what I made from the recipe.

They turned out to be bit sized crumbly cookies. The cookies seemed dry and crumbly but I also didn’t know what to expect since this recipe was so vague. All in all, I brought some into work which my co-workers enjoyed!

My second recipe was from Pinterest- Mixed Berry Vanilla Baked Oatmeal. I really like this recipe because it is healthy, quick and I can have it throughout the week for breakfast (cold or hot). I used frozen mixed berries but topped with fresh black berries.

Mine didn’t turn out as pretty as the Pinterest picture (I am thinking it was because I used mostly frozen fruit?) I also realized I used the wrong size baking dish.. Next time I make this I will plan on using fresh fruit and the right size pan!

Last recipe was from Pinterest as well. I was debating  between oatmeal chocolate chip cookies (my favorite) or something unusual that I haven’t made before. So I went with Coco Chia Granola Balls. http://nutritiontwins.com/coco-chia-granola-balls-2/

The above right pic are the ingredients for these granola balls (minus the vino 🙂 ) I am starting to use coconut oil in cooking/baking since there are a lot of health benefits. This was a pretty easy preparation and tasted good.

A lot of the oat recipes I looked for contained to many ingredients with too much sugar so I wanted to look at oats in a healthy, unique way. The baked oatmeal definitely changed my way of oatmeal preparation and the variety of old fashion oats in general.

One thought on “Oats- Assignment 3

  1. RobinS says:

    I love that you kept the wine in your photo, as a matter of fact, I like to cook with a little glass nearby, too!
    The oats and berries baked dish sounds interesting – I’m not sure why baking powder was needed. I think baked oatmeal is a great way to enjoy it, and mixed berries are a perfect pairing!
    Thanks for sharing your home cooking experiences!

    Like

Leave a Reply

