Buckwheat (That Little Rascal…)

So I thought it would be fun to experimental with buckwheat.  I had heard it mentioned many times in my life but I don’t think I have ever used it in a recipe.  It is also toted as one of the healthiest foods that is often overlooked–sounds like an excellent reason to try it.  Besides, I have a sister with celiac so I thought this trek may help her out as well.

However, I didn’t realize how difficult it would be to find buckwheat (that little rascal fruit seed) but I did see quinoa everywhere.  No wonder the majority of the class picked that grain!  Nonetheless, I eventually found buckwheat flour at Byerly’s and buckwheat groats at Whole Foods.  I didn’t have a chance to test out the groats yet—but I will soon.

First dish was buckwheat pancakes.

 

May I just say yum to this recipe.  Simple enough to make; once I located buttermilk at the grocery store.  The pancakes cooked up evenly and fluffy.  They had good flavor as well.  I had some extra batter so I saved it for the next day.  The pancakes were not nearly as good as the first go-round.  I’m not sure if it was me or the ingredients are not as stable as I expected.  Regardless, I would make this recipe again—but just in a small batch.

Dish #2 was buckwheat cornmeal muffins.

Not nearly as good as anticipated.  In fact, they kinda tasted like cardboard.  I’m more accustomed to a sweeter corn muffin so it might be a personal preference bias as well.  This recipe only called for a 1/8 cup of sugar (I cut the recipe in half) so that didn’t help it taste-wise either.   The vegetable beef soup that accessorized the muffin was rock solid.  Whew.  I’ll be throwing this buckwheat cornmeal muffin recipe out.

 

Buckwheat Waffles Star for Breakfast (#3)

 

So, this was a surprise winner for me.  I like to consider myself a waffle aficionado–heck, my waffle iron is a Hamilton Beach from the early 1950’s that still has a cloth electrical cord!  The process building was a bit slow and puttsy (whipped egg whites) but it was worth it.   I also cut this recipe in half to avoid wasting anything.  The reduced ingredient list called for 1 tablespoon of sugar.  That combined with the yogurt provided more than enough sweetness (I’m sure the syrup helped out in the end too).  The waffles baked up nicely—crunchy exterior but light and fluffy on the inside.  The recipe called for a pinch of cinnamon which I was able to detect in the final product (a nice surprise).  Overall very tasty.  Next time I may try to add some malt powder to see if that enhances the waffles even more–or not.  These were good.

 

Leave a Reply

