Quinoa for days

Blueberry Quinoa “oatmeal”

I am not really a breakfast person so I decided to do two breakfast quinoa recipes to branch out a little. I had all of the ingredients for the blueberry quinoa except flaxseed.  It was pretty good but bland.  I think I used too much quinoa and not enough of everything else. It also seems like its “missing something” maybe more fruit like blueberries and strawberries would give it more dimension.

 

IMG_4390

 

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/230830/blueberry-lemon-breakfast-quinoa/

Quinoa and Black Beans

This was probably my favorite dish.  I love salad.  Again though, it seemed a little one dimensional with the taste.  The cilantro really stood out and the recipe also called for two cans of black beans. I only used one but it still seemed like a lot.The only ingredient I was missing was corn. I essentially just chopped up all the ingredients, mixed it up and then added the quinoa and avocado on top. I did decide to incorporate some cherry tomatoes the second time I ate this dish and I liked it a little better. This dish tasted “fresh.”

IMG_4387

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/49552/quinoa-and-black-beans/

 

The Savory Quinoa breakfast I liked a little bit better than the blueberry quinoa “oatmeal.”  This was a quick and easy recipe.  I also added some hot sauce to it as well.  This dish I thought was the best proportion of everything. I first made the quinoa, cooked down the kale (instead of spinach), cherry tomatoes, and onions.  Then I mixed them together and threw an egg over easy on top!

IMG_4383

https://www.toneitup.com/recipe/savory-quinoa-breakfast-bowl/

2 thoughts on “Quinoa for days

  1. RobinS says:

    Your dishes look good – I can see why some might have tasted bland. The first one was made using skim milk (similar to using water) and the second one only used 1 teaspoon of a tasteless fat – fat is needed in dishes to carry flavor, so don’t be afraid to use whole milk, butter, or a nice olive oil (which would have been good in the second dish). Breakfast porridges are particularly delicious with butter and full-fat dairy (you don’t need to go overboard, a little dab will do.)
    Breakfast bowls are a great way to start a day. You can use all manner of pre-cooked grains, greens, salsa, kimchi, and egg to create a truly filling and satisfying meal.
    Thank you for taking the class. I hope you enjoyed it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

