The final week: Quin-Whaaaa?

The Whole Grain: Quinoa!

I had never cooked quinoa before, but I knew we had a bag of it in the pantry. Turns out you can just cook it in a rice cooker, which we also had in the pantry. The pantry really delivered for me this week. In looking up recipes this week I discovered you can basically just add quinoa to anything. Salad? Add quinoa. Oatmeal? Add quinoa. Burger? Add quinoa. So after learning just how versatile this little grain is and how easy it is to cook, I decided to play this week like I wasn’t completing an assignment. Next week when the class ends, what am I really likely to do with a bowl full of quinoa. Let’s find out!

Starting with Breakfast:

Mediterranean Breakfast Quinoa:

Based on this.

4447 Well… We didn’t have almonds… or dried apricots… or milk. We did have pecans, dried figs and cranberries, and almond milk! I also started with cooked quinoa, so it didn’t really need much milk. I added some oats to fill it out. I should have cut back on the salt. I liked the saltiness, but I think a half teaspoon would have been plenty.

Overall, this was a good hearty breakfast! I normally eat oatmeal because it is easy and keeps me full until lunch. Quinoa seems like it would be an equally good option if I want a little variety in my morning grains.

Now on to… Second Breakfast?

Apple Banana Quinoa Breakfast Cups:

Based on thisKIMG0030

Sam and I are driving to Indianapolis to visit our new born niece! (which is also why I will not be able to attend the last class on Tuesday 😦 But yay baby!) The drive is about 9 to 10 hours so car food is a must if you don’t want to eat fast food for every meal. These little cups are perfect for bringing along and they are a good hearty snack. I will absolutely be making these again!

And finally, the laziest one of all…

Quinoa on Any Salad You Are Eating:

Based on… Having salad and Quinoa.4462

This feels a bit like cheating, but it is probably the most useful thing I learned about quinoa and what I will be doing many times in the future.

Is that salad looking a little meager? Just throw a scoop of quinoa on there and you will not be hungry in a hour. This was a car-kale salad that I slapped the quinoa on and it got me through Wisconsin. Solid.

 

I definitely felt the difference of having a prepped grain on hand. Especially one that you can seemingly add to anything! I still have a bunch of it left and I don’t think it will be hard to squeeze in. Cooking up a batch of quinoa may become a semi-regular weekend activity for me. Which also means I will be eating more salads. All glory to the Quinoa!

Leave a Reply

