Taro & Yucca for days

My strategy for this assignment was to walk into the produce section of my local grocery store, find two vegetables I was relatively unfamiliar with, and google recipes at the store to identify necessary ingredients. This strategy worked so-so.

Recipe #1 Braised Taro with Dried Shrimps
IMG_2018I hit a snag right away with this recipe, as I glanced through the ingredients and didn’t pause at “dried shrimp,” instead immediately thinking “Oh, I have shrimp at home. Perfect.” The taro was easy enough to prepare (I only needed two roots for this recipe), but I had to be creative with the amount of water I added and how long I cooked the recipe to account for the fresh vs dried shrimps.
IMG_2019

Ultimately, the dish turned out fine, but the taro flavor didn’t add much to the recipe–perhaps it would have complemented the dried shrimp flavor better.
IMG_2021

Recipe #2 Yucca Fries
I’ve only had Yucca once at a Cuban restaurant, and I loved the dense, starchy root. I was excited to add Yucca to the list of veggies and as I love roasted veggies, I chose the roasted fries recipe. Ultimately, I’d call this one a success.
IMG_2023

After spending a considerable amount of time peeling and cutting and boiling the yucca, I was finally able to line my “fries” on the baking sheet. IMG_2024I chose smaller fries than indicated in the recipe in part because I hoped it would enable them to cook faster, and potentially get crispier. When the fries were finally ready, I made a sauce out of mayo, Worchester sauce, ketchup, cayenne and paprika to accompany the snack.
IMG_2025
Recipe #3 Taro Shake
Okay. So the biggest issue I encountered in completing this assignment was research whether any of my veggies were poisonous to handle raw. It didn’t even occur to me as a possibility. Now I successfully cut-up two taro for the shrimp recipe, but the shake required to cups worth of mashed taro, and as I cut up my last taro my hands were itching incredibly. I had to run my hands under cool water and then rub anti-itch cream over my hands to bear it! As I put a pause on the shakes I looked up taro and realized that this is a common reaction to handling raw taro. Yikes! Proof that I should have done research in advance and not just picked to items at random.
IMG_2030

Once my hands stopped itching, I boiled the taro for 40 minutes, mashed them, and added the rest of the smoothie ingredients to the ninja. Thankfully, I enjoyed the shake so perhaps the foray into raw taro was worth it…
IMG_2032
Bonus Recipe Edit: I made the Kale & Potato soup that we didn’t make last week. Loved it. Thank you for the recipe and I’d totally make it again.

IMG_2029

 

One thought on “Taro & Yucca for days

  1. RobinS says:

    I’m always impressed when folks choose taro and yuca for this assignment – it seems like a lot of work (and discomfort, in your case) to cook with these roots! I like that you chose very different preparations, and the Taro Shake sounds particularly yummy.
    Happy to hear you tried the potato soup. It’s a great example of how you can use just a few simple ingredients to make a really delicious meal – it’s great with a whole grain crusty bread (like miche).
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

