Roasted Veggie Medley

So, I thought I would check out recipe options  to incorporate a combo of sweet potatoes, zucchini and red bell pepper.  Yes, I can count to two but I do like peppers so I wanted to make sure all the dishes would have a splash  of zing especially since I’ve had very little (if any) exposure to the other two.  In our week one class, we roasted some cauliflower.  I had never done that before and it was pretty good (albeit with the curry cheese sauce on top).  I wanted to try something similar with other produce.

It was also my birthday this week so there’s was a fair amount of group gatherings and of course, food.  After an all you-care-to-eat brunch on Sunday, I didn’t want much of a dinner so I thought a bowl of roasted veggies would be easy, fairly quick, and satisfying yet not too filling.

The result.  Wow does the kitchen smell good!  The medley was a bit on the soft side but the peppers and onions dominated in flavor (no surprise).   I didn’t want to burn the meal but maybe a couple of minutes more in the oven would have improved the outcome.  It was definitely enough food too but I don’t think I’m a big zucchini fan.  The sweet potato was good—I would do that again in the mix but not the z-veggie.   Maybe in my other dishes the zucchini will be better received.   I haven’t cooked with rosemary in the past but it did add a positive dimension to the food.  I would add more black pepper in the next rendition.

Sweet Potato & Zucchini Hash

Another one dish/skillet meal.  Okay, if you count the pan of boiling water for the egg then there were two but still an easy meal prep and decent clean-up.

Did I mention it was my birthday this week?  As such I was trying to cut down on some of the portions of these meals.  This one I quartered—give or take on the ingredients a smidge.  I also added red pepper which was not part of the original recipe.  Obviously, this was a more cohesive meal than the bowl of roasted vegetables prepared the other day.  Oddly enough, I kinda enjoyed the boiling or poaching of the egg.  I would normally have used a little poaching dish in a skillet.  This was my first time floating the egg in water.  I’m not sure why the recipe called for vinegar in the water.  I’ve only heard that referenced for eggs still in the shell and maybe they are easier to peel as a result.  I wasn’t able to find much of a definitive purpose on the web either.   Nonetheless, the egg turned out very well.  The aroma of the cooking veggies was very appealing too.  I would like to do this recipe another time when I have my own stock.  Given time restraints, I resorted to the packaged type.   Sorry Bill!

The meal itself was better than I expected.  While I’m still not a fan of zucchini, it had a more sedate presence in this recipe.   I’m beginning to enjoy sweet potatoes and appreciate the different ways to incorporate onions and peppers too.  I purchased some dried thyme for this dish as my spice cabinet wasn’t very broad (that is changing!).  I could easily eat this meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Basil-Zucchini-Potato Frittata

This was the third meal I prepared with my two/three vegetables and the one I enjoyed the most.  The prep was very easy and straight forward—Cook the veggies in the skillet, add the egg & basil mixture, cook a bit more and tada—you have a meal!  It was nice to get the suggestion from the materials to think about breakfast and not merely a lunch or dinner meal too.

 

In addition to the listed ingredients, this recipe invited the addition of leftover veggies.  It also suggested shredding the zucchini but I chopped it instead.   Something about shredded zucchini made it even less appealing—I don’t think I going to be a big zucchini supporter anytime soon.  Thankfully, the other flavors were more distinct.  This recipe introduced me to dried basil leaves too. The ingredient definitely provides a layer of flavor that I like and now it’s another solid member of the expanding household spice cabinet.

The overall result was very good.  I found this meal to have the most flavor of the three and it certainly had more structure for obvious reasons.  I don’t think the tomato paste provided much punch though.  I might opt for a salsa or similar next time around.  I did like the fact the primary ingredients were chopped but I threw in some of the leftovers from the hash which were a bit larger.  It provided a little more variety to the final product.   This meal could be a simple but tasty family breakfast or used for a group brunch.  My final vote on the veggies:  sweet potatoes are surprisingly good and versatile but zucchini maybe not so much for me.  Peppers & onions rule!

 

 

One thought on “Roasted Veggie Medley

  1. RobinS says:

    Belated Happy Birthday!
    Your meals are all so colorful and appealing.
    Good for you for the many attempts to like zucchini. I admire your adventurous spirit.
    Before you completely give up on it, try the grating method for the frittata – in my opinion, it’s the best way to enjoy zucchini with eggs, especially with a little Parmesan. Btw, you can add salt to grated zucchini and let it sit for 20 minutes, or so to remove the moisture – you might like it better this way, as the procedure slightly changes the texture and flavor. I must admit that I’m not a fan of zucchini in the winter months – it just has a funky flavor that is not present when you eat zucchini during the peak summer season.
    Great to hear that these recipes opened your taste buds to some new herbs!
    Here is an interesting article about poached eggs and the use of vinegar and salt in the cooking water: http://www.npr.org/2011/11/29/142903042/cracking-the-poached-egg-code
    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

