Homework Assignment 2 – Kale & Cauliflower

For my Homework Assignment I choose Kale and Cauliflower.  This may seem odd to some people but I promise I have never cooked with these two ingredients in my life. I know I need to branch out a little more.  I also had wine…

 

 

The first dish I made was pasta.  To make it a little more flavorful I added shrimp and tomatoes.  This was my favorite dish by far that I made.  I would actually serve this to other people and be confident that they wouldn’t hate it.  I essentially boiled the pasta, cooked down the cauliflower and garlic, then added tomato, shrimp, and kale, salt and pepper. When the the pasta was mostly done I through that in last and cooked for a few more minutes.

IMG_4363

https://snapguide.com/guides/cook-quick-healthy-pasta-with-kale-cauliflower/

 

My next dish was still pretty tasty but I would change a few things: Kale and Cauliflower Salad.  I didn’t have some of the other ingredients this recipe called for like pine nuts.  It was a good salad and I made a fresh dressing (fresh squeeze lemon, olive oil. salt and pepper).  However, next time I would chop the Kale and Cauliflower more finely.  It was really crunchy.  But it was actually very good and I had it with some chicken noodle soup!

 

IMG_4369

http://ahealthylifeforme.com/kale-and-roasted-cauliflower-salad-gluten-free-vegetarian/

The last recipe I made, or attempted to make was cauliflower and kale mashed potatoes.  However, I didn’t have a food processor so I used a beater I think (the tool for mixing up pancake batter).  Therefore it was still a little chunky.  It tasted O.K. but it had a weird texture.

IMG_4377

http://www.thewheatlesskitchen.com/cauliflower-mashed-potatoes-with-kale/

 

Overall, I would definitely make the Pasta again and probably the salad if I had leftover Kale. I think I would need a food processor to make the mashed potatoes truly “mashed.”  I was excited I had some new recipes for Kale because it is so healthy.  I also did an extra assignment and made kale chips.  They turned out mediocre. I think I needed to use more olive oil and garlic powder.  But I really enjoyed this assignment and happy I got to cook a little more out of my comfort zone!IMG_4370

One thought on “Homework Assignment 2 – Kale & Cauliflower

  1. RobinS says:

    There are plenty of people who’ve never cooked cauliflower or kale.
    Congratulations on your successful dishes and cooking outside your comfort zone!
    I hope you’re inspired to keep trying new ways to cook with these two super nutritious vegetables.

    Like

Leave a Reply

