Going Green

For the assignment this week I bought kale and brussel sprouts. I have tried eating both in the past, but not cooking them. I wanted to try cooking them and see how the different preparations would change the tastes and my liking of these bolder choice vegetables.

For the first option, I chose my favorite type of meal to make… a breakfast meal 🙂 Some bacon and eggs incorporating the kale and Brussels sprouts. I sautéed the kale to pair with the eggs and then did bacon wrapped Brussels sprouts. That was very tedious! I didn’t enjoy the bacon as much as I hoped, but it was ok. I don’t think I will make them again.

The next recipes I tried were snacks. I’m always on the run and wanted some healthy snacks. I found one for kale chips and one for Brussels sprouts chips. The kale chips were pretty simple. Wash the kale, drizzle with oil, salt and bake. The sprouts on the other hand, were again tedious. You had to slice the sprouts and peel off just the outer layers of it and set aside the remainder. Then you mix the peeled layers with oil, salt, pepper, and chili pepper for a little kick and bake. Both of these were really good but both called for way too much oil. I would use an oil spritzer if I made them again. They were a little greasy and didn’t lead to a healthy feeling snack in the end. But, they were good which surprised me!

The final recipes I did were simple side dishes. I did a basic kale salad and roasted Brussels sprouts. For the salad, I just rinsed the kale and added an Italian dressing to it. For the roasted sprouts, I used the remaining portions from the chips and tossed them with some oil and salt and baked them. I definitely preferred the sprouts over the salad. I think I like the kale cooked versus raw. It helps to take a little bit of the bitterness out of it.

I definitely consumed more vegetables this week with the challenge, but i find it hard to buy in bulk with fresh produce being one person. I prefer frozen veggies, unless i know I am cooking a large amount of something or running to the store that day. I don’t like wasting food and I didn’t finish a lot of these items, but I tried them for something different. Overall, I found some recipes I will use again and some I won’t. Sorry bacon!

Leave a Reply

