Homework #1 – Kimchi Bokum-Bob

Kyungsoo- I have no complaint that my wife is a wonderful cook. It is a blessing, in truth. One downside of this is that my job at kitchen is mainly a chore – mostly dish washing. I should not, however, blame my wife for myself being a quite primitive cook. Frankly, I was never successful in maintaining constant interests in cooking. Of course, I cook for my family once in a while and am overjoyed when they like my meals. These, however, are occasional events. Maybe once a week or so or even less. My children like my foods but they still prefer their mom’s. The consequence is that I am called upon for cooking only when my wife does not feel like cooking or when I have sudden urge for doing unusual things.
One day, it came to my mind that my wife would value me more or I would respect her more if I turn myself into a more proactive and capable helper while she cooks. Once this thought established itself in my mind, I started paying attention to her cooking and volunteered more for my family cooking.
img_0691.jpg
My wife and I are Koreans. My children are born here but they still like Korean foods. Most of our meals are typical of Korean families’. Many ask me which Korean restaurants I would recommend. I have no recommendation. Not because there is no good Korean restaurant but because we never go out to try Korean restaurants. It is not fun to try what we eat everyday on those special outings. One of the easiest Korean foods to prepare is Kimchi bokum-bob. My children love it, and we love it. This is a perfect recipe for cooking it at least once a week.
img_0682
We love kimchi. There are thousands different kinds of kimchi. Most often we have kimchi as one of many side dishes next to rice. But we can also cook fried rice with Kimchi as well. I start with slicing kimchi into small pieces. Green onions and peppers are also cut into small pieces. In the mean time, our rice is being prepared in our pressure cooker. Depending on what you have in the refrigerator or pantry on the day, I may cut some sausages, ham,. or spam into slices as well.   Once all kimchi, vegetables, and meats are cooked in frying pans, these are mixed with rice in a big frying pan wok. This is a good time to prepare eggs sunny side up. I am used to having kimchi bokum-bob with hot bean paste soup which is really easy to prepare if I decide to have a simple version. Simplest one takes only bean paste and tofu, and I may add slices of green onion. When I have more time, I include a lot of variety of vegetables.

One thought on “Homework #1 – Kimchi Bokum-Bob

  1. RobinS says:

    I’m happy to have a name for this recipe! I make a similar recipe once a week for breakfast using whatever cooked whole grain I have in the refrigerator (brown rice, quinoa, farro, wild rice…) and I always saute some greens (kale, spinach, collard greens) with it.
    Do you or your spouse make your own kimchi?
    I hope you learn some useful techniques and recipes that you can use for meals at home.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

