Home Assignment 1

This was a fun assignment as I currently do not have much in my refrigerator or pantry since I am moving soon! So I had to be creative. Luckily, this past weekend my roommate had a birthday party and I lucked out with the left overs from the veggie tray. MyFridgeFood.com is an amazing website that lets you select foods you already have and generates unique recipes that include those foods. I picked Parmesan Roasted Broccoli. I had to substitute to Cheddar cheese because that is all I had on hand. Below are my ingredients and how it turned out! It didn’t take too much prep time and I roasted them at 425 degrees for 10 min. I also threw in some peppers as those were on the veggie tray too-

I always have olive oil and lemon on hand. I feel like those are essential ingredients and give many of options to preparing meals, drinks, and homemade natural beauty products.

When it comes to cooking, I try to be spontaneous (fits my personality too:) and I like to add my own twist to the recipe. I usually don’t buy mass quantities of items at the grocery store and am especially trying to eat up the random foods I had in my pantry/refrigerator before I move. The second recipe is very VERY simple but it’s what I could think of (also with the help of Pinterest)

 

I spread PB on Ritz crackers and topped with cut up strawberry’s and drizzled melted dark chocolate. It’s a nice snack/dessert however, these pictures above do not look too appealing. They tasted better than they look! I like how you can turn a simple cracker into a decent appetizer/snack with just a few added ingredients. Unfortunately, my pantry didn’t have many ingredients to work with.

One thought on “Home Assignment 1

  1. RobinS says:

    Very creative with the Ritz crackers! It seems that Pinterest is the go-to site for cooking ideas these days. Also, it’s hard go wrong with roasted veggies! I’ve not heard of MyFridgeFood until now, so I’ll definitely check it out.
    What are you interested in learning from this class? Are there things about your pantry that you will change when you move to your new place?
    Thanks for the post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

