Pear Tart and Awesome Pork Chops

Since I talked to Bill after class about not knowing what to make and he suggested a  pear tart. I have never made a tart in my life so I found this recipe for a Rustic Pear Tart on Pinterest. It looked simple enough which is what I look for in recipes. I only had canned pears so I drained them really good. My first thoughts were that this is not going to work because its so wet and there weren’t enough pears to make this work. However, after making the dough, which was much smaller than I though and I came to the conclusion that the I had way to much fruit so I made a second one. The first one seemed like there wasn’t enough dough and fell apart on all sides. The second one I made with twice the amount of dough and at least it looks better. I think if I did this again, I would add something more to the dough for favor.

The Awesome Pork Chop recipe, I also got on Pinterest. I have made Pork chops before but usually I throw them in the oven and they turn out tough. So I did something out of my comfort zone and made these following a recipe. It called for Italian bread crumbs but I substituted cracker crumbs. The recipe had me dip the pork chops into eggs and then the bread crumbs, then fry them until golden. The recipe had me bake the pork chops and then 10 minutes before put a sauce of mushroom soup, milk and white wine. I substituted some moscoto wine for the white wine and added garlic powder because I didn’t have the Mushroom soup with roasted garlic as it was called for.  It was wonderful and will definitely make that again.

My cooking style has changed over the years. When my children were growing up, I always had a dinner ready for them with a meat, potatoes/rice and veggies. But since they are on their own, my dinners are more a what can I throw together or drive-thru meal on the fly. I am working to make more meals on the weekends so I have something to take to work for lunches.

When I look in my cupboards for something to eat, I get discouraged because nothing goes with anything. My pantry has lots of miscellaneous stuff from tea to spices, to canned veggies, to dessert making items to jellies. I have tons of spices some of which I don’t know how to use them and usually use the same ones over and over. My spices are also old and wonder if they lose their flavor after years.

 

2 thoughts on “Pear Tart and Awesome Pork Chops

  1. RobinS says:

    Nice idea to make a pear tart! You’ll have to share your experience with Bill.
    What would you add to the crust next time to make if more flavorful? Was it a short crust (flour, salt, butter, water)?
    I think it’s common for cooking styles to change over the years. What are you interested in learning from this class? Did you happen to take a look at the suggested pantry list on the last page of the syllabus? There are a lot of things that “go together” to make cooking on the fly more healthful and easier. Spices do lose their potency – unground seeds last a couple of years, while ground spices and dried herbs can last up to one year (kept in a dark, cool, dry place).
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. becomingdebbie128 says:

    Yes, it was a short crust. I would like to learn what to do with left overs and or how to add more variety to my meals. I currently do about 10 meals that I rotate which gets boring and then I opt to go out if nothing grabs me to eat. Also, I am cooking for 1 or 2 of us and I tend to still make big casserole meals and have tons of left overs that I eat for days. I did glance at the pantry list and will look at it again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

