Home Assignment 1

I made a typical mid-week meal of pan-fried chicken, roasted broccoli, and a slightly fancy twist on boxed couscous. My partner and I typically have chicken in the freezer ready to thaw, and we try to keep at least two types of fresh vegetables in the house for use over the work-week. We also love the Near East couscous that can be prepared in five minutes and taste as good as the couscous from scratch recipes.

For the most part, I was able to follow the recipes with the ingredients I had on hand (pictured above). While I was out of fresh garlic cloves, I had preserved minced garlic as a back-up, and I skipped the shallots recommended alongside the roasted broccoli. The biggest “challenge” was the couscous. We prefer craisins to raisins, so we added only toasted pine nuts and craisins to our couscous dish and left out the parsley and scallions. Fresh parmesan is used with a lot of our favorite recipes, so we tend to have it on hand–probably more so than we should. Below is a blurry final product along with our cat Oliver.2017-02-23-19-09-28 Edit: I was uncertain as to whether one meal with several components aligned with the challenge, or whether we were supposed to create two separate meals. I did attempt a recipe #2 on Sunday, but the result was so disastrous I chose not to take a picture.

Inspired by one of those tastee videos on facebook, I tried making a bloomin’ onion. The batter, onion, and sauce were all delicious. But unfortunately the batter didn’t stick to the onion very well, so we had to eat one bite of fried batter and one bite of cooked onion. It was still tasty, but definitely a disaster. I’m going to make fewer cuts to my next bloomin’ onion and also be wary of the twice-dipped in egg wash, as the second dip undid most of the batter.

Here’s to trying, am I right?

One thought on “Home Assignment 1

  1. RobinS says:

    Looks like a great meal, and I’m with you on the Parmesan! I use it liberally in many dishes.
    I love that you tried making the Bloomin’ Onion and that you are not deterred by the first attempt turning out less than ideal. Personally, I’ve never been good at batter frying things.
    What are you hoping to learn in this class? Are you good with what you have on hand in your pantry? Is there anything you’d like to change?
    Thanks for the post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

