Quinoa, quinoa, quinoa

Since I already had a bag of uncooked quinoa from my “let’s make trendy grain bowls” kick a few months back, I decided to choose quinoa as my grain of choice for this assignment. I wanted to use it in different ways that I was used to so I tried these three recipes: Quinoa-Parmesan Crusted Chicken, Strawberry Quinoa Pancakes, and Quinoa Protein Balls.

Quinoa-Parmesan Crusted Chicken

 

File_000(1).jpeg

This was actually kind of fun! The process of breading this chicken was basically exactly like how you would normally do it, except that you replace the breadcrumbs with toasted quinoa. I baked the quinoa at 425 degrees for about 15 minutes until it was dried out and a browned a bit on top.

File_001.jpeg

I prepped all of my dipping bowls (these are actually out of order, oops!) and dipped the chicken breasts into the flour, egg, then the quinoa/parm mixture.

File_002.jpeg

Delicious! Highly recommend using quinoa instead of breadcrumbs to mix up your chicken entree sometime! It was really tasty!

Strawberry Quinoa Pancakes

File_003.jpeg

File_005.jpeg

I realize now that this photo looks extremely unappetizing… they actually look kind of like some sort of mystery meat patty. But my kitchen smelled of cinnamon and strawberries!

File_006.jpeg

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I took my first bite, but these were actually quite delicious! There was a tiny texture thing I had to force myself to ignore, but all in all they worked out!

 

Quinoa Protein Balls

File_000.jpeg

I make these protein balls quite often as a snack for myself throughout the day. I figured if I threw in some toasted quinoa any weird grain flavors could be masked by all the peanut butter, vanilla protein powder, honey, and chocolate chips! Not sure I would add quinoa again, but it was interesting to try!

It was nice to have a bunch of already cooked quinoa on hand to use in meals throughout the week. I did accidently make way to much and now need to find something to do with my last few cups in the fridge!

One thought on “Quinoa, quinoa, quinoa

  1. RobinS says:

    Many of your class mates chose quinoa – it’s a really versatile grain.
    I like the idea of using quinoa in place of bread crumbs, and the pancakes look very tasty.
    Thank you for posting.
    I hope you enjoyed the class.

    Like

Leave a Reply

