Home Assignment 3: 1 Grain/3 Ways – Buckwheat!

Cooking for Wellness - The Basics

Winter seems the perfect time to enjoy food with hearty flavors, so I chose buckwheat as my “grain” to prepare three different ways this week. My grandfather owned and operated one of our country’s only buckwheat mills, so buckwheat has always been dear to my heart. Although no longer in the family, I’m pleased to say that Birkett Mills is still in operation in upstate New York, and it produces many organic products, including the organic buckwheat hulls that I used to mulch my asparagus bed several years ago. To this day, many brand name buckwheat products one buys in this country are produced there – including Wolff’s, Pocono, Puritan, and the house brand itself,  Birkett Mills.

Recipe #1 – Blini

Blini require either planning ahead or patience! Because I didn’t plan ahead (other than having the ingredients on hand), I had to be extra patient for breakfast on Sunday morning. Blini…

View original post 1,070 more words

Leave a Reply

