You SPELT it, you dealt it…

I really wanted to try freekeh this week for the whole grain assignment, but the co-op didn’t even have it. Mostly because I wanted to use the title Sneaky Freekeh- but I also wanted to try this ancient “supergrain.” I even had all of my recipes picked out and a grocery list beforehand, which I never do, but then had to improvise, which I always do…

In the bulk grains aisle, I decided on spelt because it’s a grain that I’ve never cooked with before, and it is fairly cheap – only 1.49 per pound. Since I didn’t get to identify and buy all of the necessary ingredients, my recipes were fairly simple this week.

IMG_3913.JPG

First, I didn’t bother to look for a recipe, but threw together some olive oil, tahini, spelt, cucumber, and garlic powder. It was good, but I proceeded to throw away the old tahini, it tasted a little fishy…

IMG_3912.JPG

I made a Spelt Scramble on Saturday morning. I sauteed onions and threw in my extra carrot and chive toppings from the Miso I made last week. Then I added some greens (spinach, kale, and arugula mix – I bought a box mix at Target on Tuesday, and it was already really nasty, so I didn’t have much to use. I’m boycotting Target groceries for a little while…) Then I added some spelt, and poured in the scrambled eggs and milk. To top it off, I put in some fresh dill and sharp cheese. When I was at the grocery store so many times last weekend, I impulsively bought dill to remind me of being in Lithuania. They put dill on everything! Fried eggs? dill. Baked/boiled potatoes? dill. beets, pork, everything – dill. It added a lot of flavor to the scramble so I will try to dill more.

IMG_3914.JPGIMG_3915.JPG

After working on Saturday, I wasn’t in the mood to cook anything so I was glad to have the spelt already cooked. I mostly used this recipe: http://www.oliviascuisine.com/spelt-salad-with-navy-beans-cherry-tomatoes-and-cucumber/

IMG_3920.JPG

But used garbanzo in place of navy beans, no chives, and a ready-made greek vinaigrette dressing. It is amazing! YUM

One thought on “You SPELT it, you dealt it…

  1. RobinS says:

    I like the catchy title!
    Not sure where you live, but you can find freekah at the Hampden Park Coop (So. St. Anthony Park) south of the St. Paul campus – it’s in their bulk section.
    In spite of not being able to cook with your chosen grain, it appears that spelt worked for you, and all the dishes look tasty!
    All of these dishes could be made with other hulled grains as well (barley, emmer, einkorn, rye, wheat berries, and oat groats.) Have fun experimenting with other grains!

    Like

Leave a Reply

