Whole Grains: Quinoa

For assignment three I wanted to use quinoa as I do not use it very often but I know I like it.  I wanted to make three different types of dishes.  I first wanted to make a breakfast item.

I made blueberry quinoa breakfast bars. These use a lot of items I did not have in my pantry, but were fairly easy to make.

1 1/2 cup quick cooking oats
1 cup cooked quinoa
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup coconut sugar
1/4 chia seeds
1 cup mashed bananas
2 eggs
2 tablespoons almond butter
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 blueberries

To prepare you want to combine dry ingredients and wet ingredients separately.  Combine and then fold in blueberries. Cook at 350 for 25-35 minutes.

These bars are nutritious and perfect for someone like me who is usually running out the door in the morning.

For my second dish I made an appetizer.  For this appetizer I was a little creative and altered another recipe I found by changing ingredients that I had in my fridge.   I turned quinoa pizza bites into quinoa spinach bites.

This recipe includes:
1 cup cooked Quinoa
3 large eggs
1 cup shredded Romano Cheese (Switched from Mozzarella)
Hand full of Spinach (Switched from 1/3 cup pepperoni)
Mix ingredients together and cook at 350 for 25-30 minutes.

img_2101

The third recipe was making a southwest quinoa soup.  My new favorite thing to make is soup.  It is easy, freezable, and allows me to use up food I have had for awhile.

The soup I made consists of:
Low sodium Chicken Broth
1 pack Bird’s Eye frozen Southwest Style Protein Blender
1 can Jalapeño
a ton of quinoa

 

One thought on “Whole Grains: Quinoa

  1. RobinS says:

    As you discovered, quinoa is infinitely versatile! All of your recipes look delicious.
    What is the texture like for the breakfast bars?

    I hope you enjoyed the class!

    Like

Leave a Reply

