Star-faits and Mash

I decided to go strange for my unfamiliar produce assignment.

First up: starfruit. I saw these little guys in amongst the oranges and thought I’d give them a try. Turns out, you really don’t do anything to starfruit – not even peeling! Several recipes I found also included things like mango and papaya, which I didn’t have. I decided to go simple but kind of fancy and made parfaits for my husband and myself.

Star-faits and coffee

Star-faits and coffee

 

For the second piece of produce, I did choose a local and seasonal vegetable: rutabagas. I learned the hard way that rutabagas are stubborn to peel and difficult to cut!

These, too, don’t necesssarily require much preparation. The first thing I made with them was just themselves. That is, I boiled cubes of rutabaga in well-salted water, tossed them with salt and pepper, and served! They were so delicious we barely had any left over of the large bowl.

The next night I decided to do a little more work. I found a recipe for rutabaga mashed with carrots, which reminded me of the delicious “Canadian turnip” dish we’d had at a friend’s Thanksgiving dinner. This was pretty simple as well: pretty much just boil the rutabaga, then mash it with grated carrots, butter, and a little sugar. Next time I think I’ll use a little more butter and maybe some fun spices; it came out a bit bland.

img_1388

All in all an enjoyable experience!

One thought on “Star-faits and Mash

  1. RobinS says:

    I am a big fan of rutabaga, so I’m always happy when folks choose it as their produce for this assignment.
    Thanks for sharing, and I hope you enjoyed the class.

    Like

Leave a Reply

