Cauliflower & Squash

I am admittedly not very outgoing when it comes to vegetables, so branching out to cauliflower and squash is a big deal for me! I have seen lots of creative uses for cauliflower on Pinterest so I was eager to try some of those recipes out. I chose a kabocha squash as my second ingredient because this is the perfect time to attempt to make a popular Haitian soup that I have had on my last few visits there. Overall I am very happy with how all of these meals turned out!

Haitian Squash Soup Joumou

I understand now why this soup is so special in Haiti. It takes a LONG time to prepare and cook. There is marinating, chopping, sauteing, boiling, resting, and waiting. I am definitely not used to spending this much time making a meal in the kitchen. At least the end result was worth it!

File_000.jpeg

 In addition to the squash, the green cabbage and the shallots are new for me as well! It was fun to test out my handy knife skills on all these different kinds of veggies.

File_004.jpeg

This squash put up a fight! The process of cutting and taking the skin off of this thing was a challenge. After I chopped it into cubes, I boiled it until tender, then pureed it in a blender. Set aside to add to the soup for the last 20 minutes on the stove.

File_007.jpeg

After marinating the meat for about an hour, I browned it in the pot. Then added beef stock and the rest of the chopped veggies.

File_008.jpeg

Viola! This soup is absolutely delicious. I had enough to pack lunches for the entire week and a few dinner portions as well.

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

I’ve seen this recipe everywhere and I was so excited to finally try it! It turned out great and I was so surprised how easy it was!

File_000(2).jpeg

This recipe called for a food processor to prep the cauliflower, which I don’t have, so I had to substitute for a blender. A bit of a struggle but I eventually achieved the same results!

File_001.jpeg

I had to microwave the riced cauliflower for 4 minutes, then squeeze the heck out of it in a tea towel. I was shocked at how much water kept coming out! After this, I added an egg, cheese, and Italian spices and mixed into a “dough”.

File_003.jpeg

I cooked just the crust first until golden brown, then added the sauce and cheese! I will definitely make this again and add more creative toppings. It’s crazy how cauliflower can take on the flavor of whatever you’d like it to.

Cauliflower Fried Rice

After my great experience with the pizza crust last night, I was excited to try this fried rice. This was also so easy, and I loved the result!

File_000(1).jpeg

Went with a veggie fried rice this time, but next time I would add chicken or steak.

File_001(2).jpeg

Instead of using a blender to make the rice, I tried using a cheese grater instead. This actually worked a lot better and produced the perfect little rice pieces.

File_002.jpeg

Sauteed the carrots, scallions, and garlic in the pan before adding the egg then the rice and soy sauce.

File_003(2).jpeg

This was SO GOOD. I may have just discovered my new favorite dish!

Since I am just cooking for myself, I’m not sure buying produce in bulk is the smartest option for me. It worked this week because I was forced to use the ingredients for these recipes, but I could see myself easily getting tired of the ingredients if I had to eat it before it went bad. Perhaps if I have specific plans to make a soup and freeze portions, or plan my meals strategically to use the produce in different ways it could work.

Leave a Reply

