Breakfast Veggies!

My family, like a majority of Americans, does not eat enough vegetables. I would guess I get 2-3 servings per day. One big way to reduce that gap is to add veggies to breakfast. So, this week I tried three vegetables that I’m familiar with (kale, red peppers, and red onions) in unfamiliar ways – with breakfast!

On Saturday, I diced the red pepper, red onion, and provolone cheese. I browned the onions in 3 tablespoons melted butter (I know, it’s a lot of butter, but I’m on a low carb high fat diet right now!). Next, I added the peppers for a short time – less than a minute – before I added the scrambled eggs and cheese and a dash of salt and pepper. Over all, it was pretty good. I thought onion flavor might overpower everything else, but I actually could have used more of that flavor.

Then, Tuesday morning, I sliced the Kale and heated it on a skillet, with a little lemon juice. At least that was the plan. I realized after I ate that I forgot to add the lemon juice! In addition to my veggie, I cooked “french toast” eggs (left-over french toast batter – scrambled eggs, half-n-half, vanilla, and nutmeg!) and made bacon in the oven. The kale was bitter – so next time I’ll remember the lemon juice!

 

 

While these aren’t ground breaking recipes, I’m excited to be able to add vegetables to breakfasts. I’m the primary breakfast preparer, so if I can sneak vegetables into that meal, it gets the whole family off to a great start.

My other cooking for the week included making a big pot of chili – not exactly a new recipe, but I did get to use my new knife skills on the onions and cilantro!

img_1746

One thought on “Breakfast Veggies!

  1. RobinS says:

    It’s a lovely thing to add uncommon vegetables to breakfast – I, for one, love kale and spinach and kimchi with my eggs in the morning.
    Did you also add kale to the chili? It’s hard to tell from the photo.
    I hope you’re enjoying the class! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

