Assignment 1: Healthy Pancakes

As a single and overly busy individual I find meal planning does not generally happen.  I am spontaneous when it comes to cooking.  In the past when I have food prepped I have found I made something that I cannot eat more than two days in a row.  Also I generally try recipes that are too advanced for my cooking skills.

I am in the process of moving so when taking a look at my pantry it is pretty low in stock.  I have some spices, but mostly just left overs, over ripe fruit, and other random breakfast foods of the cereal variety.  I definitely do not have the food I would like to utilize, and would like to get more basic foods in order to make simple but nutritious foods.  I have realized I have a lot of overly processed foods that have zero nutrition value and are “easy.”

On Sunday afternoon I was in need of lunch.  After surveying my kitchen I decided to make what I call healthy pancakes.  This recipe is super easy, which makes it perfect!

It involves:

2 eggs

1 banana

1/2 to 1 cup of oatmeal

Estimate cinnamon

This recipe is not only extremely easy, it is very quick.  It probably took 10 minutes to make.  It is also healthy and allows you to use up older bananas.  It is not the prettiest of meals but it does the job, and it tastes like banana bread.

img_2067

 

One thought on “Assignment 1: Healthy Pancakes

  1. RobinS says:

    They look delicious!
    I hope that by taking this class, you’ll get some practical experience using more whole food ingredients – perhaps, since you’re moving, you can leave the “overly processed foods” behind. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

