Homework Assignment #1

As a busy 23-year-old living in a tiny apartment with a roommate, it’s safe to say that cooking up elaborate meal for myself at the end of the day isn’t my top priority. I typically spend Sunday afternoon grocery shopping and meal prepping 5 lunch portions of my selected “easy and healthy” Pinterest recipe of the week. Dinner tends to be a post-workout protein+fruit+spinach smoothie and, if I’m still hungry after slurping that down, a side of eggs and avocado on toast. Needless to say, my kitchen isn’t stocked with much more than I know I can consume in the 7 days before my next trip to the grocery store.

This assignment has impeccable timing, forcing me to be creative with the scraps I have in my fridge and cupboards before I leave for a week long vacation on Tuesday morning. Luckily, my roommate and I have some party appetizer leftovers from our Saturday plans that I think I can get creative with. For my first dish, I will use up my vegetables in one dish and make some oven baked spicy vegetable fries with sweet potatoes, zucchini, carrots, and rutabaga. For my second dish, I will utilize the only part of my pantry that is always stocked: the baking ingredients. I’m planning to make some strawberry+orange muffins.

Here goes!

Strawberry+Orange Muffins

1 cup fresh strawberries
¼ cup fresh orange juice
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
½ cup butter, softened
1 teaspoon grated orange zest
⅔ cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
½ cup milk
File_001.jpeg

Thanks to Pinterest I found a recipe for these muffins and happened to have all of the ingredients!

File_003.jpeg

Not often do I have a reason to use orange zest, so it was fun to be able to utilize both the zest and the juice in this recipe.

File_009.jpeg

These were actually super easy to mix up and put together! I’m so impressed that I was able to put this together when I normally would think I had nothing to eat!

File_000.jpg

These were SO good! If I were to change anything I would just add more strawberries, and possibly add more types of berries. Or if I wanted to be really fancy, I could make a orange glaze to put on top!


Spicy Veggie Fries

1 sweet potato
1/2 zucchini
handful of carrot sticks
handful of rutabaga sticks
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon cajun seasoning
salt and pepper to season
File_000.jpeg

Had the carrot and rutabaga sticks leftover and added the sweet potato and zucchini to complete the dish. I have made sweet potato fries before, but wanted to try the same idea with these other veggies.

File_001.jpeg

Chopped all of the veggies and ready to drizzle the oil and add the seasoning.

File_002.jpeg

File_003.jpeg

The sweet potato fries were definitely the best ones of the bunch. The zucchini ended up being really soggy, which I kind of expected due to their high water content. Next time I would also try to make some sort of dipping sauce, they needed a little something extra!

Leave a Reply

