Sunday Dinner

Part 1 (part 2 to come later this week)

Growing up, when my Mom was sick, my Father had one recipe he would make, Potato Soup. He never cooked unless Mom was ill. It was very basic, russet potatoes, onion, butter, milk, salt and pepper.

We lived in the country and bought the milk from my school bus driver. We would drive to his farm, where he would scoop the milk out of huge trough into wide mouth gallon jars. The cream would float to the top. Not sure if my Dad included the cream into the soup.

Homemade Potato Soup has always been a great comfort food for me especially in winter.

Since winter has finally come to Minnesota with a vengeance. Today’s high temperature was -0.9. While I am all toasty by the fire, the weather still screams comfort food.

 

I have made this recipe from memory forever.

Like tonight I have tweaked the recipe to include sweet peas and dried thyme leaves, to taste. Sometimes I have melted Swiss or Mozzarella cheese into the sauce. Tonight I will sprinkle cheddar cheese on top.

Basic recipe
2 large russet potatoes
1 large onion
About 3 Tbls butter
Enough flour to make a rue
Less than a quart of half and half (usually use whole milk, but half and half was getting out of date)
12 oz sweet peas
Thyme, salt and pepper to taste

 

One thought on “Sunday Dinner

  1. RobinS says:

    Thank you for sharing this sweet memory of your father.
    I love that a few simple ingredients makes such a lovely dish. My grandmother made a similar soup, only she sliced the onions very thinly. Thanks for the reminding me about this wonderfully simple soup!

    Like

Leave a Reply

